FOR GENERAL RELEASE

Business Cooperation Agreement Concluded with the Bureau of Commerce of Anhui Province in China

Mizuho Corporate Bank, Ltd. (MHCB; Yasuhiro Sato, President & CEO) and Mizuho Corporate Bank (China), Ltd. (MHCB (China)) entered into a business cooperation agreement with the Bureau of Commerce of Anhui Province in China on September 19, 2011. The objective of this business cooperation agreement is to promote mutual cooperation for the economic development of the region through support for Japanese companies establishing local operations. This is the first time a business cooperation agreement has been concluded between the Bureau of Commerce of Anhui Province and a foreign bank.

Anhui Province is a core province in the Central Regional Development Plan for the six provinces in central China (Anhui, Shanxi, Jiangxi, Henan, Hubei, and Hunan Provinces). Taking advantage of an economic base including Shanghai and major cities in Jiangsu and Zhejiang provinces as well as the broad region forming the Yangtze River Delta economic zone, Anhui Province has achieved remarkable development in recent years, and foreign corporation penetration is increasing.

The Bureau of Commerce of Anhui Province supports the implementation of investment by government institutions and efforts to attract foreign capital. For the Mizuho Group also, conclusion of this business agreement has created an opportunity for Mizuho's Nanjing Representative Office in neighboring Jiangsu Province and the MHCB (China) Wuxi Branch to progress cooperation for advice on attracting industry to the region and the holding of investment explanation seminars, as well as further strengthening support for Japanese corporations establishing local operations together with other Group companies including Mizuho Bank, Ltd.

(Reference: Overview of Anhui)

Anhui is an inland province located in the east of the East China region and its capital is Hefei. The population was approximately 60 million as of end-2010, and GDP in 2010 was approximately CNY1.23 trillion. It has 9 China National Economic and Technological Development Zones and 140 Provincial Economic Development Zones.

The province is rich in natural resources such as coal and iron ore, and mines such as Mine Maanshan and Copper Mine Tongling are well known both in China and around the world. Main industries include petrochemical manufacturing in Anqing and machinery, electronics, spinning, and foodstuffs in Hefei and Wuhu.

END